Indra Haraksingh (Ph.D.)

lecturer in the Department of Physics at The UWI, Trinidad

Indra Haraksingh (Ph.D.) Indra Haraksingh has been a lecturer in the Department of Physics at The UWI, Trinidad. Her main focus is Renewable Energy, including Solar Energy and Geothermal Energy, as well as Pure Physics, Geophysics and Earth Sciences. She has developed and coordinated the MSc Renewable Energy Technology Programme at UWI, Trinidad since 2013. She holds a Ph.D. in Physics in Solar Energy, a Diploma in Education, and BSc. – Physics and Mathematics Degrees. Dr. Haraksingh has been serving for over twenty-five years as Chair of the Trinidad and Tobago Mathematics Olympiad and Leader of the National delegation to the International Mathematics Olympiad. More recently, she has been serving as Director and Treasurer of the International Mathematics Foundation. She is a founding member and President of the Caribbean Solar Energy Society and Trinidad & Tobago Solar Energy Society, a member of the Steering Committee of the World Renewable Network WREN and Council Member of WREN, and a Member of the Projects Steering Committee of the CARICOM (Caribbean Community) appointed Caribbean Renewable Energy Development Programme (CREDP). She headed the OAS project on Alternative Energy Education Dissemination involving Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Belize, and has been the Technical Advisor and Coordinator for the INEES, DIREKT and the IDB-funded BRIDGE projects. She is a Board member of the Caribbean Renewable Energy Forum (CREF). Dr. Haraksingh is one of the key persons involved in training and capacity building in Renewable Energy in the Caribbean region. In July 2002 she was honoured as the Recipient of the Outstanding Scientist Award at World Renewable Energy Congress in Cologne, Germany, and in July 2008 she was presented with the International Pioneer Award for Solar Energy at the Tenth World Renewable Energy Congress held in Glasgow, Scotland. In September 2012, Dr. Haraksingh was honoured by the National Institute for Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology with the NIHERST Award for Excellence in Science and Technology in the Silver Category. And in October 2017 she received the ultimate in her career at The UWI – The UWI Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence.